Jim Shead Waterways Photographer & Writer
Text and photographs copyright of Jim Shead.
Home Introduction Waterways List Waterways Map Links Books DVD Articles Photo Gallery
Features Contact me Glossary Boats Events List History Local Waterways Help Photo List

Top 100 Sites

  

Previous Article Next Article

This article Clicking on Canals No 15 is the copyright of Jim Shead - The fifteenth of a regular series of articles on waterways on the internet. First published in Waterways World April 2002.


 

clicking.on.canals

by Jim Shead


It's All New

There are 40 new sites this month so let's start with some trip boats. The Stoke Bruerne Boat Co www.stokebruerneboats.co.uk offers day boat hire and boat trips. Llangollen Wharf - Canal Boat Trips www.horsedrawnboats.co.uk/index.htm has horse drawn or motorised canal boat trips and Pennine Boat Trips of Skipton www.canaltrips.co.uk/index.htm do a variety of trips. Calder Lady www.canal-craft.co.uk/calderlady.htm is a cruising restaurant based at Dewsbury and The Surrey & Hampshire Canal Society has the John Pinkerton www.basingstokecanal1.freeserve.co.uk/jpink.htm trip boat on the Basingstoke Canal. The Ashby Trip www.ashbytrip.co.uk operate on the Ashby Canal and Sovereign Cruises Ltd www.canaljunction.com/sovereign have two boats, one operates on the River Weaver the other on the Trent & Mersey Canal.

If you are looking for day boat hire Otter www.otter.ontheweb.nu based at Stalybridge is the first on the Huddersfield Narrow Canal. For longer periods of hire there are Banks Hire Boats www.banks-hire-boats.co.uk of Selby; Maestermyn Cruisers www.maestermyn.co.uk with Welsh Lady Cruisers on the Llangollen Canal; Cheshire Cat Narrowboat Hire www.cheshirecatnarrowboats.co.uk Based at Venetian Marina; and Avalon Narrowboat Co www.avalonboats.com on the Oxford Canal.

There seem to be very few hotel boats without a web site as the following join those already on-line - the narrowboat Lady Gwendolyn www.castlebridgecruises.co.uk; Thames & Chilterns Holiday Cruises' wide boat Tranquil Rose www.tranquilrose.co.uk on the River Thames and adjoining waterways; and Wood Owl www.woodowl.co.uk hotel narrowboat. Flagships Holiday Cruises www.flagships.co.uk is a collection of small firms that have come together to offer a choice of hotel boat holidays as is Cruise England www.cruise-england.co.uk representing eight hotel boat operations.

Community boating is also well represented by the Mary Sunley www.macc-cs.org.uk/macclesfield/msunley.htm a canal boat specially built to provide daytime trips for the physically or mentally disabled. The Vale of Llangollen Canal Boat Trust www.llangollen.org.uk/pages/disabled.htm have canal boats for disabled people. The Canal Boat Adventure Project www.canal-boat-adv-project.freeserve.co.uk/html/main.html is a registered charity for the development of young people through canal based activities, and finally there is the Bruce Charitable Trust www.brucetrust.org.uk a charity which provides four wide-beamed canal boats on the Kennet and Avon Canal.

The new personal pages are Snecklifter www.snecklifter.com about a couple who sell their house to buy a narrowboat, Gerry Cork's British Inland Waterways http://home.fastnet.co.uk/gerrycork/canals/index.html pages, Ice Boats of the Leeds and Liverpool Canal www.abc.se/~m10354/mar/iceboat/niffany2.htm site is based on work by the Nautical Archaeology Society and Ocean Gypsy www.oceangypsy.co.uk tells of a 30 foot cruiser now being restored at Fenny Stratford.

Boating services are represented by the Selby Boat Centre www. http://selby-boat-centre.co.uk, DB Boat Fitting www.dbboatfitting.co.uk at Braunston, Narrowboat Engine Room Services http://homepage.ntlworld.com/engineroom for servicing and repairs to your narrowboat engine, Moons Bridge Marina www.moonsbridgemarina.co.uk on the Lancaster Canal, and Hanbury Brokerage Services www.hanburywharf.co.uk near Droitwich. The New Boat Co www.thenewboat.co.uk is an associated enterprise at Hanbury Wharf.

Clubs, societies and voluntary groups make up the next category starting with Sale Cruising Club http://members.tripod.co.uk/salecc/index.html who have moorings on the Bridgewater Canal. The Freeman Cruiser Fan Club www.freemancruiser.co.uk is a site for all Freeman Cruiser owners or anyone interested in Freeman boats, and the Newbury Working Party Group www.geocities.com/nwpg2001/welcome.html are currently working on the Wey & Arun, Hereford and Gloucester Canals, and the Basingstoke Canal. Lastly the Bude Canal and Harbour Society www.bude-canal.freeserve.co.uk have information about the history of the Bude Canal, its present state and future plans.

The last of the new sites are a mixed bunch. Virtual Canals www.virtual-canals.com is a tour through the British Canals based on information supplied by Claymoore Navigation. Standedge Visitor Centre www.standedge.co.uk is an exciting new attraction for all of the family to enjoy. Anderton Boat Lift www.andertonboatlift.co.uk is an official BW site with restoration progress information and a webcam. the South Pennine Ring www.southpenninering.co.uk is also an official BW site although the canals included do NOT form a ring. Finally Smart Vacations www.smartvacations.co.uk offer a share in a luxury canal boat based on the River Thames.

Site of the month

Hind & Hart Narrowboat Hotels have had an excellent web site for many years and have now launched a new site www.hindandhart.co.uk that is even better than the old one. It has something for everyone interested in the inland waterways, not just hotel boaters. The information section includes recipes, poetry, walking the towpath and photographs; while the waterway guides section includes cinemas, pubs, nature notes, shopping, museums, cathedrals & churches and a page about bookshops you can visit from your boat. Like other operators they include details of their timetable of cruises, cruising themes, the boats and all you would expect from any hotel boat site, but it is the extra information, the attractive pages and uncluttered design of the site that makes it special. The text has obviously been written by a waterways enthusiast with a good knowledge of the places that can be explored from moorings all over the country.

If you would like to suggest a favourite web site which you think WW readers should know about please mail me at ww@jim-shead.com.

Please note: the above links were correct when this article was published in the April 2002 issue of Waterways World but for up to date links please see my links page.

  

Previous Article Next Article

Return to the main Articles Listing page

 

Jim Shead Waterways Photographer & Writer
Text and photographs copyright of Jim Shead.
Home Introduction Waterways List Waterways Map Links Books DVD Articles Photo Gallery
Features Contact me Glossary Boats Events List History Local Waterways Help Photo List